WEEKEND ROUNDUP: Seneca, Streator compete at Reed-Custer Indoor Invite

WEEKEND ROUNDUP: Seneca, Streator compete at Reed-Custer Indoor Invite


Seneca earns pair of top-three team finishes

BRAIDWOOD – The Fighting Irish girls finished second of 10 teams while the Seneca boys placed third of nine teams at Saturday’s Reed-Custer Indoor Invite.

Audrey Jenkins won the 800-meter run (2:33.33) for the Lady Irish and was runner-up in the 1,600 (5:45). Erica Techmanski bested the shot put (33-10 3/4) and Seneca also claimed the 3,200 relay (10:42.59).

Mara Bruno added a runner-up finish in the 200 (27.54), Brooklyn Giertz was second in the 60 hurdles (10.59) and the pole vault (10-0), and Seneca finished second in the 800 (1:55.92) and 1,600 (4:33.51) relays.

Natalie Carajohn added a third place finish in the 400 (1:08.01) and Grace Alley was third in the triple jump (33-7).

Christopher Collet won the 800 (2:14.55) for the Seneca boys with teammate Ben Krause finishing second (2:16.07). Billy Glasscock won the 1,600 (5:01) by a second over teammate Wyatt Baldauf, and Seneca notched victories in both the 1,600 (3:51.84) and 3,200 (8:40) relays.

Trevor Till was third in the pole vault (12-0) and Nate Armbrust finished third in the triple jump (39-1) for Seneca.

The Lady Irish finished with 94 points to finish behind only Providence Catholic. The Seneca boys had 86 points and placed behind Morris and Sandwich.

The Streator boys were fifth with 48 points. Kobie Webb won the long jump (20-9) and finished second in the 60 (7.47) and the 200 (24.84). Streator placed third in the 800 relay (1:40.88) as well.

Faith Mitts was second in the 800 (2:44.81) for the Lady Bulldogs, who placed seventh overall with 32 points. Nadia Murphy was second in the 60 hurdles (10.40) and Lana Krohe was runner-up in the shot put (33-2 1/4).


Serena’s Setchell named All-Conference

UNDATED – Jakob Setchell has been named All-Little 10 Conference for the third straight season.

The senior, who is a unanimous selection for the second time, averaged 24.4 points per game and 4.3 rebounds per game for the Huskers.

Other unanimous selections are Corey Jacobson and Brett Myre of Newark, Cooper Larsen and Connor Todd of Indian Creek, Liam Roberts of Somonauk, Tate Sanderson of Hinckley-Big Rock, and Tyler Bretsch of Earlville.

Newark’s Connor Swanson and Hinckley-Big Rock’s Brian Bohannon round out the All-Conference list.