BASEBALL: Little 10 All-Conference Team features six Bobcats, two Huskers

UNDATED – Somonauk dominated the Little 10 All-Conference Team released Monday, garnering six of the 16 selections.

John Johnson, Ryan Lumsden, Nate Wegener and Brady Kreiter were unanimous choices for the conference champion and State fourth-place finishing Bobcats, while Andy Jackson and Nolan Wegener were also selected.

Johnson hit .402 and drove in 38 runs for the ‘Cats, and also pitched to a 9-0 record and a 1.15 ERA. Lumsden hit .410 on the season with 28 RBIs, and Nate Wegener batted .346 with 15 RBIs and 14 stolen bases while also pitching to a 4-0 mark and a 1.09 ERA. All three were unanimous selections for the second consecutive year.

Jackson finished the year with a 3.60 batting average and 26 RBIs, while Nolan Wegener finished with a 4-0 record, two saves and a 1.86 ERA on the hill while also batting .368 with 27 RBIs and stealing 13 bases.

After going 13-0 in conference play, Somonauk has now won or shared the Little 10 championship in 10 of the last 11 seasons.

Serena had two selections, both unanimous.

Trace Berggren was a unanimous choice for the third straight year after hitting .410 with three home runs and 15 RBIs in conference play. He also struck out 26 over 18 1/3 innings as a pitcher in conference games.

Preston Duffy hit .452 against Little 10 foes with two home runs and 10 RBIs.

Other all-conference selections were Keegan Johnson, Brennan Sweeney and Tyler Bretsch of Earlville-Leland; Steve McGrath, Conner Christian and Cam Myre of Newark; Trevor Guerrera of Indian Creek; and Braden Watson of Hiawatha.